“All the good”

Standard

Earlier this week, I read a quote that one of my favorite artists posted. It said:

Do all the good you can. By all the means you can. In all the ways you can. In all the places you can. At all the times you can. To all the people you can. As long as ever you can.

This was said by a wise man named John Wesley. He was a Christian theologian that founded the Methodist church alongside his brother, Charles Wesley.

Read it again. What is it saying? What is the goal? What are we supposed to be doing? When? For how long? To whom? This is crazy. I want to do that!

Where do I begin…

How great would it be if everyone you know could say that you honestly did all of those things? That you did ALL the good you could. By ALL means. At ALL places. To ALL people. At ALL times…FOR all times. How great! I can only dream of that.

I want to really examine a specific part of the quote: “by all the means you can.”

What does that really look like?

I believe that there are countless ways to “do all the good.” Since I am a jobless student, money is not a way that I can contribute. Sure, I do still occasionally donate money to a person, church, or organization…but, that is not how I try and do “good.” In my own opinion, time can be just as valuable as money. So for me, the best way that I can give back and do good is sacrifice my time to people/places in need.

Sorry, got a little off track. “By all means you can.” How can I do that? I don’t have any idea what that can look like considering my huge lack of funds. I’m not quite sure why I’m thinking that it’s all about financial means..but what else can it be? I guess it means giving all that you can, in all ways. Whether it is time, money, things. Hmm…I’m going to have to think about that more. If anyone has any opinions, feel free to share.

Keep thinking,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

